top of page
  • Writer's pictureA. Erin Walker

Book Review: Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

Updated: Oct 15, 2020

First of all, let's give thanks to the higher powers that I finally have time to read for leisure again!


I am not a multi-tasking person when it comes to my sources of entertainment. I cannot binge-watch two Netflix shows at once - I have to finish one series before I can successfully begin another, and I cannot read more than one book of the same genre at the same time.


AND, when I'm writing a novel I cannot read any other novels. I could get into what I believe to be the reason behind this but I will save that case study for another day.


Today, I am sharing a brief review on the first book I've been able to read since finishing my second novel.


Book Review: Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston








Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston


Somehow, it's a bit difficult for me to find the words to explain the love I have for this book. The realness of it is immediately enticing - the way Ms. Zora incorporates the way folks actually spoke at that time rather than cleaning it up. The way she describes scenes by using the smallest details and runs off into details of those small details that have lives of their own and that paints the setting in a way I have never experienced and f*cking thoroughly enjoyed. Then reading through, following the journey of Janie as she lives and learns what love is not and what it is. It first being introduced as something you eventually find in a stranger after being married to them for some time, to her then realizing it's not to be found at all but rather meant to find you and usually at an unexpected time and in an unexpected person.


This book has become one of my favorites after one read, finishing it in the matter of a few days. I will definitely be reading it again. For me, much of the beauty of it lies in its ability to be so heart-warming and heart-wrenching at the same d*mn time.


Below are a couple of my favorite quotes from the book. And I'm only giving two because I don't want to give too much away from your own experience of reading it (I also spelled out the dialogue for the review to also avoid taking away your experience of reading it yourself as it truly is):


"Then you must tell them that love ain't something like a grindstone that's the same thing everywhere and does the same thing to everything it touches. Love is like the sea. It's a moving thing, but still and all, it takes its shape from the shore it meets, and it's different with every shore."

"They seemed to be staring at the dark, but their eyes were watching God."

Let me know your thoughts on Their Eyes Were Watching God or any other Zora Neale Hurston creations you may have read. I will be looking into and reading more of her work soon!


Fun Fact: Zora Neale Hurston and I share a birthday! January 7th. My Capricorn sista. As a Black woman writer//author I already felt a connection to her while reading this book. Then to find out we're birthday twins - what! Amazing. xo


-aew





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page